Cristiano Ronaldo Wins 2013 FIFA Ballon d'Or Award

Or Award Cristiano Ronaldo. 1

Cristiano Ronaldo, Real Madrid and Portugal

Cristiano Ronaldo Wins 2013 FIFA Ballon d'Or Award 

Real Madrid and Portugal superstar, Cristiano Ronaldo, won the 2013 Ballon d'Or at Kongresshaus, Zurich, Switzerland today after finishing second in FIFA's Ballon d'Or competition three of the past four years.

"First of all I have to say a great thanks to all of my team-mates with the club and the national team. Without all of their efforts this would not have been possible. I am very happy, it is very difficult to win this award," said Ronaldo. "Everybody that has been involved with me on a personal level I have to thank. My wife, my friends, my son. It is a tremendously emotional moment. All I can say is thank you to everybody that has been involved."

"Being the winner made my happy, I felt very proud. To win such an award requires a lot of work. I hope to come back next year to win the third Ballon d'Or of my career," said an emotional Ronaldo.

"There are no words to describe this moment," continued the twenty-eight year old. "I want to thank all my colleagues and companions at Real Madrid, in the Portuguese team and my family who are here with me."

Ronaldo won the annual award given to the world's best player for the second time in his career. CR7 was recognized as the world's best player in 2008 as well, when he was with Manchester United.

Ronaldo-scored 66 goals in 56 appearances for both Real Madrid and Portugal.

Lionel Messi had been the recipient of the award in each of the past four seasons, and he was again a finalist this year along with 2012-13 treble-winner Franck Ribery.

2013 FIFA Ballon d'Or Awards

  • FIFA Ballon d’Or - Cristiano Ronaldo
  • FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year - Nadine Angerer
  • FIFA Men’s Football Coach of the Year - Jupp Heynickes
  • FIFA Women’s Football Coach of the Year - Silvia Neid
  • FIFA Presidential Award - Jacques Rogge
  • FIFA Fair Play Award - Afghanistan Football Federation
  • FIFA Prix d'Honneur Award - Pele
  • FIFA Puskas Award - Zlatan Ibrahimovic

About blog/ - Get the latest news and hottest football tickets available for all popular soccer matches! Buy National Teams - World Cup 2014 TicketsWales TicketsScotland TicketsEngland TicketsEngland Premiership Tickets: Liverpool TicketsManchester City TicketsManchester United TicketsTottenham Hotspur TicketsArsenal TicketsChelsea TicketsSpanish La Liga Tickets: Real Madrid TicketsFc Barcelona TicketsStadium Tickets: Wembley Stadium ticketsOld Trafford ticketsEmirates Stadium ticketsStamford Bridge ticketsNou Camp ticketsSan Siro ticketsSoccer TicketsItalian Serie A Tickets: Inter Milan TicketsAC Milan TicketsAS Roma Tickets.