World Cup 2014 : England v Poland Tickets.

Andros Townsend, Nikola Drincic

Andros Townsend, England Nikola Drincic, Montenegro

World Cup 2014 : England 4-1 Montenegro

England defeated Montenegro in front of 83,807 spectators.

Itt was a good night for Roy Hodgson.

Townsend scored England’s first goal and scored the third to seal the win in the second half.

Watch England play live! World Cup Tickets are available for sale online now! Buy the very best England tickets including England v Poland Tickets.

Since Poland were beaten by Ukraine, England are assured of a play-off place but have to win on Tuesday to qualify as winners of group H.

Wayne Rooney opened the scoring. England were two goals ahead through Branko Boskovic’s own goal.

Dejan Damjanovic made the score 2-1 on 71 minutes.

Hodgson selected Townsend, arguing that he had given plenty of young players like Danny Welbeck and Raheem Sterling a chance, and would have played Daniel Sturridge, a starter and a goalscorer last night, much more often but for injury. 

Hodgson selected Sturridge, Rooney and Welbeck. Frank Lampard and Steven Gerrard were selected in preference to Michael Carrick and Jack Wilshere, both late substitutes. 

England’s second goal came on 62 minutes when Sturridge stole possession and fed Welbeck down the left. Boskovic succeeded in steering the ball past his own goalkeeper.

With less than 20 minutes left, Montenegro's  substitute Fatos Beqiraj’s shot was re-directed past Hart by Damjanovic.

In injury time Sturridge won a penalty at the expense of Kecojevic and scored to give England four goals.

England (4-2-3-1): Hart; Walker, Cahill, Jagielka, Baines; Gerrard, Lampard; Townsend, Rooney, Welbeck; Sturridge.

Montenegro (4-4-1-1): Poleksic; Pavicevic, Savic, Kecojevic, Jovanovic; Boskovic, Drincic, Zverotic, Volkov; Jovetic; Damjanovic.

Booked: England Walker Montenegro Pavicevic, Volkov

England  National Team Squad:

Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster (Celtic), Joe Hart (Manchester City), John Ruddy (Norwich).

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), Kyle Walker (Tottenham).

Midfielders: Ross Barkley (Everton), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), James Milner (Manchester City), Andros Townsend (Tottenham), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).

Forwards: Jermain Defoe (Tottenham), Rickie Lambert (Southampton), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Daniel Welbeck (Manchester United).