Bale Wins Both PFA Player & Young Player of the Year Awards


Gareth Bale and AVB

Gareth Bale and Andres Villas Boas, Tottenham Hotspur

Gareth Bale Wins Both PFA Player & Young Player of the Year Awards

England Premier League Update : 2012-13 Professional Footballers' Association Awards

Bale is the third player to win both awards in the same year -  Andy Gray was the first in 1977 and Cristiano Ronaldo was the second. Bale previously won the main prize in 2011.

The 23 year old Bale thanked his team-mates and boss Andre Villas-Boas.

“It’s a massive honor. To be voted by your peers is one of the biggest things in the game. It’s great to win it and I am delighted, said Bale. “When you look at the list, there are some massive names on it but I couldn’t have done it without the team. They have been fantastic this year and so has the manager.

Nominees included Bale, Michael Carrick, Eden Hazard, Juan Mata, Robin van Persie and Luis Suarez.

“The other nominees have been unbelievable, they have been outstanding for their clubs and it’s a massive moment to win, especially as it’s both awards and it’s something that I’m extremely proud of.”

Previous winners include: 2012: Robin Van Persie; 2011: Gareth Bale; 2010: Wayne Rooney; 2009: Ryan Giggs; and 2008: Cristiano Ronaldo.

England Premiershp Top 10 Goal Scorers

1. Robin Van Persie,  Man Utd - 24 goals
2. Luis Suarez, Liverpool - 23 goals
3. Gareth Bale,  Tottenham - 19
4. Michu, Swansea City - 17
5. Christian Benteke, Aston Villa - 15
6. Demba Ba, Chelsea - 15
7. Rickie Lambert, Southampton - 14
8. Romelu Lukaku, West Brom - 14
9. Dimitar Berbatov, Fulham - 13
10. Edin Dzeko, Man City - 12

Tottenham Hotspur tickets and other football tickets are available for upcoming games. Buy all popular English Premiership Tickets!