2012 - 2013 Player of the Year


Gareth Bale 29

Gareth Bale, Tottenham Hotspur

2012 - 2013 Player of the Year

The other nominees are Gareth Bale, Michael Carrick, Eden Hazard, Juan Mata and Robin van Persie. 

Suarez, 26, has scored 30 goals in 44 games for Liverpool this season. Bale, 23, has scored 23 goals in 39 appearances for Tottenham Hotspur this season. Van Persie has scored 28 goals in 44 appearances for Manchester United, including a title-clinching hat-trick.

Manchester City manager Roberto Mancini says Luis Suarez is his choice for player of the year, despite the scandal and outrage of Suarez biting Chelsea defender Branislav Ivanovic.

Suarez has been suspended for 10 matches for the offense.

Buy Premiership tickets now online!

"He made a mistake, he said sorry to everyone. Do you want to kill him?" retorted Mancini. "I don't know Suarez as a man, I know him as a player and this year he was one of the best in the Premier League.

"He has got his punishment. It's finished."

Suarez apologised and was fined by Liverpool on Monday. Suarez chose to accept it rather than appeal. He will miss Liverpool's last four games of the campaign, and the first six of next season.

PFA chief executive Taylor earlier said: "It would be embarrassing if he is named Player of the Year.

"But we have got to deal with it and make sure he is Player of the Year not just in a footballing sense but as a human being as well and we will be trying to do that."

Gareth Bale and Robin van Persie have won the award in the past. Bale is up for a "double" award.

Previous Winners

  • 2012: Robin Van Persie
  • 2011: Gareth Bale
  • 2010: Wayne Rooney
  • 2009: Ryan Giggs
  • 2008: Cristiano Ronaldo

Suarez is expected to be included in the Premier League team of the year.

Each member of the PFA gets two votes, which were cast before Suarez's bite on Ivanovic.

Buy England Premier League tickets now!