Franciszek Smuda, Manager Poland National Team

EURO 2012 Update: Poland National Squad Named

Czech Republic and Russia are also in Group A. “All four teams have a chance, but Russia is the favourite.

The first match against Greece will set the pace,” Smuda said.

Poland v Greece Tickets EURO 2012 8 Jun 2012 18:00 National Stadium Warsaw Warsaw, Poland

Poland coach Franciszek Smuda has named his 23-man squad for Euro 2012. Smuda dropped midfielder Tomasz Jodlowiec and striker Michal Kucharczyk, and Kamil Glik from his provisional group of 26.

“I would like to thank them because they gave it their best, they worked at full capacity and I hope they stay in contention for squads in the future,” Smuda told a news conference.

Poland’s number two goalkeeper Lukasz Fabianski was officially ruled out of the tournament after injury his shoulder at Poland’s training camp in Austria.

“I never was so frightened as during yesterday’s game against Slovakia. I never felt like that before in my life. I was just thinking please make sure nobody gets injured,” Smuda added after his side came through the 1-0 win unscathed. Poland are due to play their last friendly on June 2 against Andorra.

  • Opening Ceremony June 8, 2012
  • Group Stages June 8-19, 2012
  • Quarter-Finals: June 21-24, 2012
  • Semi-Finals: June 27-28, 2012
  • Final: July 1, 2012

Poland National Team EURO 2012 Fixtures

Poland v Greece Tickets EURO 2012 8 Jun 2012 18:00 National Stadium Warsaw Warsaw, Poland

Poland v Russia Tickets EURO 2012 12 Jun 2012 20:45 National Stadium Warsaw Warsaw, Poland

Czech Republic v Poland Tickets EURO 2012 16 Jun 2012 20:45 Municipal Stadium Wroclaw Wroclaw, Poland

Poland Euro 2012 Squad

Goalkeepers: Wojciech Szczesny (Arsenal), Przemyslaw Tyton (PSV Eindhoven), Grzegorz Sandomierski (Jagiellonia Bialystok)

Defenders: Lukasz Piszczek (Borussia Dortmund), Marcin Wasilewski (Anderlecht), Jakub Wawrzyniak (Legia Warsaw), Marcin Kaminski (Lech Poznan), Grzegorz Wojtkowiak (Lech Poznan), Sebastian Boenisch (Werder Bremen), Damien Perquis (Sochaux)

Midfielders: Eugen Polanski (Mainz), Dariusz Dudka (Auxerre), Adam Matuszczyk (Fortuna Duesseldorf), Adrian Mierzejewski (Trabzonspor), Jakub Blaszczykowski (Borussia Dortmund), Ludovic Obraniak (Bordeaux), Maciej Rybus (Terek Grozny), Kamil Grosicki (Sivasspor), Rafal Murawski (Lech Poznan), Rafal Wolski (Legia Warsaw)

Forwards: Robert Lewandowski (Borussia Dortmund), Artur Sobiech (Hanover), Pawel Brozek (Celtic)