2011 Golden Foot Award Nominees Released

Golden Foot Award

The Golden Foot award is an international career award given only to football players that are at least 29-years-old, who stand out for their sport results (both as single players and with their team), for their personality and for the esteem of the public and football experts. The winner is chosen out of a ten nominees list decided by a jury consisting of the Golden Foot media partners representatives and of the fans from all over the world who give their preferential vote through the official site. The peculiarity of this award is that the winner leaves a permanent mould of his footprints on "The Champions Promenade", a sort of "Walk of Fame" of the international football on the seafront of the Principality of Monaco.

A football player can win the Golden Foot award only once.

The nominees for the 2011 Golden Foot have been released in a ceremony headlined by last year’s winner Francesco Totti, the AS Roma captain.

The following ten candidates were announced:

David Beckham (LA Galaxy, England)
Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus, Italy)
Iker Casillas (Real Madrid, Spain)
Didier Drogba (Chelsea, Ivory Coast)
Samuel Eto’o (Inter Milan, Cameroon)
Ryan Giggs (Manchester United, Wales)
Carles Puyol (Barcelona, Spain)
Raúl González Blanco (Real Madrid, Spain)
Xavi Hernández (Barcelona, Spain)
Javier Zanetti (Inter Milan, Argentina)

The international prize is given every year to the game’s greatest in the Principality of Monaco under the High Patronage of H.S.H. Prince Albert II and promoted by World Champions Club and the Tourism Office of Monaco.

The names have been chosen by the Golden Foot jury, composed of 58 journalists representing sports media all over the world.

The winner will be chosen by a vote of football fans.

The winning star will leave his footprints on THE CHAMPIONS PROMENADE, a football ‘Walk of Fame’.

Ryan Giggs, Manchester United current star, and David Beckham, former Man Utd star are among the ten nominees.

Buy Man Utd tickets and other football tickets now online:

Community Shield 2011: Manchester City v Manchester United Tickets 7 Aug 2011 15:00 Wembley Stadium
London, United Kingdom
English Premiership: West Bromwich Albion v Manchester United Tickets 14 Aug 2011 16:00 Hawthorns
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
English Premiership: Manchester United v Tottenham Hotspur Tickets 22 Aug 2011 20:00 Old Trafford
Manchester, United Kingdom
English Premiership: Manchester United v Arsenal Tickets 28 Aug 2011 16:00 Old Trafford
Manchester, United Kingdom
English Premiership: Bolton Wanderers v Manchester United Tickets 10 Sep 2011 15:00 Reebok Stadium
Bolton, United Kingdom
English Premiership: Manchester United v Chelsea Tickets 18 Sep 2011 16:00 Old Trafford
Manchester, United Kingdom
English Premiership: Stoke City v Manchester United Tickets 24 Sep 2011 15:00 Britannia Stadium
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom