UEFA Champions League Trophy



Inter skipper Javier Zanetti lifts the trophy in Madrid in 2010

"It may not be an artistic masterpiece," said the maker of the UEFA Champions League Trophy, "but everybody in football is keen to get their hands on it."

The trophy that the winning team's captain will lift at Wembley Stadium in London is the fifth version of the current design. UEFA's General Secretary, Hans Bangerter, commissioned the current new design by Jürg Stadelmann.

"My father Hans and I went along to Herr Bangerter's office and covered the whole floor with the drawings," recalled Stadelmann. "He made comments like, 'The Bulgarians would like the bottom of that. The Spaniards would like that, but the Italians would prefer that and the Germans would go for this bit.' We put the design together like a jigsaw puzzle. It was a design constituted of many parts yet I like it and I think everyone in football likes it as well.

"I remember that it had to be finished before 28 March," Stadelmann added, "because I was getting married and taking my wife on a ten-day boat trip to Los Angeles. The trophy took 340 hours to make. I did the finer work, then it was finished off by the engraver, Fred Bänninger. On time, I am glad to say."

UEFA Champions League Past Champions

·  2009/2010 Internazionale

·  2008/2009 Barcelona

·  2007/2008 Man. United

·  2006/2007 Milan

·  2005/2006 Barcelona

·  2004/2005 Liverpool

·  2003/2004 Porto

·  2002/2003 Milan

·  2001/2002 Real Madrid

·  2000/2001 Bayern

·  1999/2000 Real Madrid

Buy Wembley Stadium tickets now. Champions League tickets are available. Now is a perfect time to purchase Champions League final tickets as well. Check out Football Hospitality .